How can I simplify sqrt( 4t^2 + 4 + ( 1/t ) ) to (2t^2 + 1)/t?

In summary, the conversation is about a student studying for a calculus final and having trouble understanding a problem involving integration. They are specifically struggling with simplifying the expression sqrt( 4t^2 + 4 + ( 1/t^2 ) ) to (2t^2 + 1)/t. After receiving help and clarification, the student thanks the other person and feels more confident about the problem.
Peter5897
Couldn’t decide if I should put this in the calculus or general math forums but...

I’m studying for a final that’s coming up this Wednesday and I’ve been looking at some past quizzes with the steps to finding the solutions that my instructor has posted online. Given the problem:

1. Compute the length of the curve~r(t) = (t^2, 2t, ln(t)), from t = 1 to t = e.

I understand that I need to take the integral from 1 to e of the sqrt( (dx/dt)^2 + (dy/dt)^2 + (dz/dt)^2) but unfortunately I’m having trouble taking the sqrt.

I get down to… *EDITED*sqrt( 4t^2 + 4 + ( 1/t^2 ) ) and I get stuck even with the answer and the steps in front of me. In the next step the problem gets simplified so as to have everything over a t^2 and then the sqrt is done and I’m left with the integral from 1 to e of (2t^2 + 1)/t.

I’m hoping someone could explain to me how sqrt( 4t^2 + 4 + ( 1/t ) ) becomes (2t^2 + 1)/t.

I’m ashamed I don’t know this but I don’t want to get stuck trying to do algebra on a calculus final.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
Mathematics news on Phys.org
Well,

[tex]\sqrt{4t^2+4+\frac{1}{t}}[/tex]

doesn't reduce to

[tex]\frac{2t^2 +1}{t}.[/tex]

So it's good that you can't figure that out!

Your error was forgetting to square [tex]\frac{dz}{dt}[/tex].

Last edited:
Ack, I wish that was my problem but I actually just mistyped it up there.

I still don't see how sqrt( 4t^2 + 4 + ( 1/t^2 ) ) gets reduced to (2t^2 + 1)/t and I'm sure it's some simple step that I'm missing.

Sorry...