How can I use an op-amp to increase voltage and current output from a 555 timer?

• Thread starter soupnatizzle
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Op-amp
In summary, the person is new to working with a 555 timer and is trying to create a squarewave frequency of 20-80khz with a 1vpp output. They are looking to increase the voltage and current using an op-amp and a transistor in an emitter follower configuration. However, it is clarified that a 555 timer is not an op-amp and is actually a timer chip with an output on pin 3. A calculator and diagram of the pinout can be found on a website provided.
soupnatizzle
i am new to most of this so my confusion is basic. here is my problem.

I am using a 555 timer to create a squarewave frequency of between 20-80khz

BUT the output is 1vpp. i am using this to drive a motor and need to up the voltage and current. i know what i need to use i just can't for the life of me figure out how to set up the op-amp to get say 5v's or so.

after the opamp i plan to use a transistor in an emitter follower configuration to drive the motor

Engineering news on Phys.org
Maybe I'm reading it wrong, but are you calling a 555 an opamp?

It isn't. A 555 is a timer chip and it produces an output on pin 3 of something close to its supply voltage. if you had a 5 volt supply, you should be getting pulses varying from almost zero volts to almost 4.5 volts positive.

See this site for a nice calculator, but also a diagram of the pinout of the 555.
http://freespace.virgin.net/matt.waite/resource/handy/pinouts/555/index.htm

Last edited by a moderator:

1. What is an op-amp and how does it work?

An op-amp, or operational amplifier, is a type of electronic component that amplifies the difference between two input signals. It has a high gain, meaning it can amplify even small differences in input voltages. It is typically used in circuits for signal processing and amplification.

2. Why am I having trouble using a 741 op-amp?