True or False

• Thread starter cyprusx
  • Start date
The magnitude of the current depends on the rate at which the magnet is moving in and out of the solenoid.

True or false

Answers and Replies

HallsofIvy
Science Advisor
Homework Helper
Have you considered flipping a coin?

Now you know you are expected to make some effort yourself. In this case, I assume you are talking about a generator consisting of a magnet moving inside a coil- You should have said that. What does your text book say about generators? What formulas do you know for current?

since voltage induced is proportional to the rate of change of B-field,i think magnitude is also dependent on it?

i really have no clue, im a noob

Hootenanny
Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
Gold Member
i really have no clue, im a noob
Consider Faraday's Law together with Ohm's law.

man, i have too hand this in tomorrow and im at risk of failing can you cut a guy a break

Hootenanny
Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
Gold Member
man, i have too hand this in tomorrow and im at risk of failing can you cut a guy a break

I will help you, but I am not going to give you the answer. However, if you do put some effort in, you will have the answer within minutes. Now, what is Faraday's law?

Any change in the magnetic environment of a coil of wire will cause a voltage (emf) to be "induced" in the coil.

Hootenanny
Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
Gold Member
Any change in the magnetic environment of a coil of wire will cause a voltage (emf) to be "induced" in the coil.
Correct, this can be represented mathematically;

[tex]V=\frac{\Delta\Phi}{\Delta t}=\frac{\Delta (BA)}{\Delta t}[/tex]

Next, what is ohm's law?

Ohm's law states that, in an electrical circuit, the current passing through a conductor is directly proportional to the potential difference applied across them provided all physical conditions are kept constant.

Hootenanny
Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
Gold Member