1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Turbine Power calculations

1. Feb 10, 2014 #1
    Hi, this is my first post on this forum, although ive often refered to many posts for random information, so thanks to all the people who dedicate time to other peoples questions, I greatly appreciate it. This is my first attempt for something like this and my knowledge of physics is very basic.

So heres my problem.. Im trying to come up with an approximate power output of a turbine
    with a radius of 1m with a force directly applied at the tip of the turbines of 600N (torque?)
    I assume that wind generates much lower torque so the equivalent energy production of a wind turbine the same size would produce much less energy. (right?)

I dont have any materials in order to base my approximations of the weight of the turbines, but I assume fibreglass could be an efficient material in this case.

So if i hooked this up to a generator, how much output would i get?
    What other factors am i missing that I should be including in my equations? Any input would be great
    i dont expect any direct answer since im probably missing out on too many factors at this point.

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 10, 2014 #2

russ_watters

Staff: Mentor

Welcome to PF!

Torque is force times length of the lever arm.
    Power is torque times angular speed (in radians/sec).

You should be able to calculate torque from what you know, but didn't say what the speed would be.

Where did these numbers come from? What is powering this turbine?

4. Feb 14, 2014 #3