Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Turning simple motion into energy.

1. Oct 2, 2004 #1
    I'm quite new to anything engineering, so could anyone explain to me or show a link on how something like a turning axel could be made to energy such as electricity? It is possible right? :confused: I have this spinning axel and I would like to somehow get electricity from this motion. If anyone knows more on this please post, and thank you for your time.

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 3, 2004 #2

enigma

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Look up 'inductance' and 'electric generators'

Most power is basically produced by turning axles. You burn coal, oil, natural gas, etc. and use the heat to boil water into steam (or just use heat from a nuclear reaction). That steam drives a turbine. The turbine turns a big bank of magnets which induce current into surrounding wires.

4. Oct 4, 2004 #3
    A way to see this in action is to get yourself a little dollar store electric car and take the body off. Remove the battery, then wire a flashlight bulb to the two battery leads to the motor. Then when you push the car, the bulb will light up. The motor acts as a generator to create the power to light the bulb.

5. Oct 4, 2004 #4
    hmmm....
    So what do you guys believe would be the simplest method of having an axel turn to make electricity? Just do the same thing that a minicar motor is doing?

6. Oct 5, 2004 #5

russ_watters

Staff: Mentor

That depends on how much energy you are trying to make. What is the purpose of this?

7. Oct 5, 2004 #6