Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

TVS Diodes for ESD Protection?

1. Nov 19, 2011 #1
    I'm developing a basic cable continuity tester. Essentially, the circuit drives a test vector onto the cable and reads back the output vector. The output has MOSFETs for buffers/drivers but the input is connected directly to the ICs (CPLD, in my case).

My concern is ESD. Unfortunately, I have very little experience in this area and am seeking advice on how to protect my devices from ESD. One thing I saw while browsing was TVS Diodes. Reading the literature on these only confused me more. I'm not sure what the highest voltage will develop that I need protection against. I do know my CPLD will be damaged if the the IO pins see more than 4V, so that's the voltage I can tolerate. Other than that, I'm a bit confused and seeking help here.

Any advice on choosing a TVS diode or, heck, another device for ESD Protection?

NOTE: I am aware that a continuity tester may not be enough and I should be measuring resistances. We have a separate machine for that so we're not bothering with including that in this machine.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 19, 2011 #2
    You need to give more info what is the output and what input you are driving to choose.

4. Nov 19, 2011 #3
    OK, the cable connects to a MOSFET's drain and the other connects to a CPLD's pins. The output high voltage is just 3.3V. To illustrate:

CPLD A's Output -> MOSFET -> Connector -> Wire Under Test -> Connector -> CPLD B's Input

I think there should be ESD protection between CPLD B and the wire.

Is this what you required? The cable's length can be upto 10 meters. Frequency of operation is just 62.5kHz.

Last edited: Nov 19, 2011
  5. Nov 19, 2011 #4