1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Two dimensional limit proof

1. Jul 13, 2012 #1

Zondrina

Homework Helper

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    This is my first attempt at a multivariate ε-δ proof. I don't know if I'm doing it right or wrong so I'm hoping someone can shed some light.

Prove :
    [tex]\lim_{(x,y)\rightarrow(1,1)} x^2+y^2 = 2[/tex]

2. Relevant equations
    [itex]\forall[/itex]ε>0, [itex]\exists[/itex]δ>0 | 0<|x-1||y-1|<δ [itex]\Rightarrow[/itex] |x^2+y^2-2|<ε

3. The attempt at a solution

So we know : |x-1|<δ and |y-1|<δ

|x^2+y^2-2| = |x^2-1+y^2-1| ≤ |x^2-1|+|y^2-1| = |x+1||x-1| + |y+1||y-1| < δ|x+1| + δ|y+1|

Now let us express |x+1| and |y+1| in terms of δ so we can further simplify to our desired value of δ.

We can observe that : |x+1| < δ+2 and |y+1| < δ+2

So we continue forth : δ|x+1| + δ|y+1| < δ(δ+2) + δ(δ+2)

Now for convenience let us agree to allow δ to be bounded, say δ≤1 for simplicity.

Now we get : δ(δ+2) + δ(δ+2) ≤ 6δ ≤ ε

Therefore δ=min{1,ε/6}

So now we verify δ satisfies the definition.

[itex]\forall[/itex]ε>0, [itex]\exists[/itex]δ=min{1,ε/6}>0 | 0<|x-1||y-1|<δ [itex]\Rightarrow[/itex] |x^2+y^2-2|<ε

|x^2+y^2-2| = |x^2-1+y^2-1| ≤ |x^2-1|+|y^2-1| = |x+1||x-1| + |y+1||y-1| < δ|x+1| + δ|y+1|| < δ(δ+2) + δ(δ+2) ≤ 3ε/6 + 3ε/6 = ε

Thus δ=min{1,ε/6} [itex]\Rightarrow[/itex] |f(x,y)-L|<ε and the proof is concluded. I want to know if I'm doing this correctly or if I've missed something.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 14, 2012 #2

SammyS

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

When you state
    [itex]\forall[/itex]ε>0, [itex]\exists[/itex]δ>0 | 0<|x-1||y-1|<δ [itex]\Rightarrow |x^2+y^2-2|<ε[/itex]​