1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

UC physics

1. May 6, 2005 #1

JFo

Hi everyone,

I'm a transfer student who's just been accepted to all the UC schools in electrical engineering for fall '05. However, I'm thinking of switching majors to physics, so I'm wondering of all the UC schools, which have good undergrad physics departments.

I heard that both Berkeley and Santa Barbara are pretty good, however there might be a problem changing majors at Berkeley, I dont think they allow transfer students to change their major once they've been accepted to the college of engineering.

Which uni should I choose?

Any info is hugely appreciated
    Many Thanks! :smile:

Last edited: May 6, 2005
  2. jcsd
  3. May 6, 2005 #2
    why wouldn't they let engineering students change their major? That seems kind of odd. If you think you'll change your major, pick the one that will let you do it.

4. May 6, 2005 #3
    I think the school of engineering and the school of arts and sciences are two different schools. I think that if you want to major in physics you have to apply to the other college.

5. May 7, 2005 #4
    I´ve heard good things about San Diego as well :eek: i'm looking into this since i'm thinking of applying to UC as an exchange student for a year, propably to Irvine (only because of location). But Santa Barbara and San Diego sound really exciting as well, try looking at the courses offered at san diego, looked very promising to me at least.

6. May 7, 2005 #5

JFo

Yeah, the college of engineering and the college of Letters and Science are two different "schools." For most of the UC schools though, I'm already pre-approved to study physics if I decide to change, all I have to do is click something online.