Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Undergrad degree in aerospace engineering

1. Aug 15, 2005 #1
    I was wondering who here went to university to do an undergrad degree in aerospace engineering, where you went and how difficult (ie grades, sat scores etc...) it was to get accepted? I've done my research on the various schools in North America that offer the program and some of them give a general average that is required, however I'm not sure how accurate this is, and I'd be interested in knowing what grades others had to get into various schools in North America.

Thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 16, 2005 #2
    Well I did a year of aerospace before switching to mechanical. They seem of a similar difficulty. I studied at our military academy in Canberra. I needed to be in the top 13% of the state (We dont have sats or whatever), which was actually pretty low. My current course had a score (percentile) of 92ish.

Sorry I cant help you with the North America bit.

4. Aug 16, 2005 #3

FredGarvin

Science Advisor

I think it is going to depend the most on what school you are talking about, rather than the curriculum. Getting into MIT's aerospace engineering program will be light years tougher than say a state school's. There are other ways to go about it too. For instance, if you want to go to a school but don't have the grades, you could look into applying under an "undecided" major instead of an engineering major. It could be a bit more laxed on the admissions standards and give you the opportunity to get some lower classes under your belt before you apply to the department you want. Just a thought.

5. Aug 16, 2005 #4