Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Undergraduate research

1. Oct 3, 2012 #1

CAF123

Gold Member

I am in my second year of my undergraduate studies and I am involved in a research society. Does anybody know of/can recommend any projects that I could do ?(either individually or part of a group). I am not sure of all the apparatus/instrumentation that the university has, so any ideas would be great and I can check later.

Many thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 3, 2012 #2

CWatters

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

4. Oct 3, 2012 #3

Drakkith

Staff: Mentor

What area of science?

5. Oct 4, 2012 #4

CAF123

Gold Member

@Drakkith I am probably looking to do something in experimental physics/applied physics
    @CWatters thanks for your suggestion, I'll check it out.

6. Oct 5, 2012 #5

CAF123

Gold Member

Two things that I have come up with myself are:
    1) Place a coin in a vacuum bell jar (or some other sort of vacuum container) and use a stroboscopic camera to measure variations in the spin frequency of a particular coin and see if this changes depending on the coin used.
    This is just an idea - i'am not sure if the apparatus will be sensitive enough or how I will set the coin in motion initially.
    2) Use a torsion balance to essentially replicate the experiment by Cavendish ( ie I believe he measured the density of earth and G )

I am not sure if either of these two experiments are realistically plausible. Can anyone offer some advice?
    Many thanks.

7. Oct 5, 2012 #6

Bobbywhy

Gold Member

Since your interest is clearly strong, I encourage you to continue onwards. You say "I am not sure of all the apparatus/instrumentation that the university has". Since your project depends largely on these, why have you not discovered what resources are available?