1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Understanding calculus

1. Sep 27, 2006 #1
    Well here I am studying calculus, and I've got to say that it is indeed pretty hard. All my experience with math up to pre-calc although hard work,it was relativly easy to "see". I can understand basic algebra good enough to be an algebra tutor at my school. I usually have no problems clearly visualizing algebra. Calculus has been a little different, I cant visualize the proofs in my text book as easy as I did pre-calc or algebra. For example I'm learning diferential products but I dont really understand why the differential of a product = f(x)g'(x)+g(x)f'(x)

My question is, is it OK to learn calculus just learning how to use the theorems and maybe with use and practice I will "see" the why? I'm I just simply not smart enough?

I hope this is the right forum since it is academic advice. Thanks for any answers.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 27, 2006 #2
    Are you not understanding where the definition of the derivative comes from? All of the rules of differentiation are derived by simply substituting different functions into the definition of the derivative and then determining the result.

4. Sep 27, 2006 #3