Understanding Calculus: Is it OK to Just Memorize Theorems?

• Thread starter Gablar16
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Calculus
In summary, the conversation is about the difficulty the individual is having with understanding calculus, particularly the proofs and theorems. They are questioning if it is okay to just learn how to use the theorems and if with practice, they will eventually understand the why behind them. The other individual suggests trying to prove the theorems themselves or seeking help online if needed.
Gablar16
Well here I am studying calculus, and I've got to say that it is indeed pretty hard. All my experience with math up to pre-calc although hard work,it was relativly easy to "see". I can understand basic algebra good enough to be an algebra tutor at my school. I usually have no problems clearly visualizing algebra. Calculus has been a little different, I can't visualize the proofs in my textbook as easy as I did pre-calc or algebra. For example I'm learning diferential products but I don't really understand why the differential of a product = f(x)g'(x)+g(x)f'(x)

My question is, is it OK to learn calculus just learning how to use the theorems and maybe with use and practice I will "see" the why? I'm I just simply not smart enough?

I hope this is the right forum since it is academic advice. Thanks for any answers.

Physics news on Phys.org
Gablar16 said:
Well here I am studying calculus, and I've got to say that it is indeed pretty hard. All my experience with math up to pre-calc although hard work,it was relativly easy to "see". I can understand basic algebra good enough to be an algebra tutor at my school. I usually have no problems clearly visualizing algebra. Calculus has been a little different, I can't visualize the proofs in my textbook as easy as I did pre-calc or algebra. For example I'm learning diferential products but I don't really understand why the differential of a product = f(x)g'(x)+g(x)f'(x)