Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Understanding dx in Integration

1. Jan 29, 2016 #1
    Hello, I am currently in my first year of college, and I already took calculus in high school. I was able to solve all the problems, but I feel like I didn't understand everything conceptually.
    When integrating dy/dx=x you get,
    ∫x dx=1/2x2.
    But what exactly happened to the dx, why did it disappear? I thought that dx was an infinitesimally small number, representing the width of the rectangles in a Riemann Sum.
    Also, I tried solving this question geometrically, but I think that I might be doing something wrong. Starting from any point x, and using left endpoint rectangles, I got that the heights of the rectangles are x,x+dx,x+2dx,... And the width is just dx. So the area under the curve y=x is dx(x+(x+dx)+(x+2dx)+(x+3dx)...) which is equal to:
    dx(x+x+x...+dx(1+2+3+4...))? Am I misinterpreting dx or can I simplify this sum even further to get 1/2x2? Thank you.

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 29, 2016 #2

andrewkirk

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Yes you can simplify it further.
    Say the integral is from 0 to 1. Divide the length up into n equal segments so that ##dx=\tfrac{1}{n}##.
    Then what you have written as dx(x+x+x...+dx(1+2+3+4...)) is actually (substituting 0 for x)

$$dx\sum_{k=1}^n\left(0+k\,dx\right)
    =\tfrac{1}{n}\left(\sum_{k=1}^n\tfrac{1}{n}k\right)
    =\tfrac{1}{n^2}\left(\frac{n(n+1)}{2}\right)=\frac{1}{2}+\frac{1}{2n^2}
    $$

which tends towards ##\tfrac{1}{2}## as ##n\to\infty##.

4. Jan 30, 2016 #3
    Oh ok, thank you. I was able to use the summations to also get the integral from 0 to any value b. By replacing dx with b/n I got the same Riemann sums as what I learned in high school.

5. Jan 30, 2016 #4

Mark44

Staff: Mentor