Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Understanding Gravitation

1. Apr 30, 2008 #1
    I'm putting this here since I'm a high school student who has only completed two years (pre-AP and AP) of introductory physics. If it's misplaced, then I apologize for the inconvenience.

So, I've been reviewing for the upcoming AP test, and I just finished re-reading in my textbook the chapter on Gravitation. I noticed there's a portion we didn't cover in class: it involved Einstein's geometric model of gravitation. I read it and then looked for additional resouces on the Internet to help me understand it better, but everything I've found seems to say the same thing.

I read about Einstein's thought experiment on gravity and acceleration being one in the same and that this somehow lead him to conclude that gravity isn't really a force but a phenomenon caused by "curvature in the space-time continuum", which is total greek to me. Gravitation was never completely clear to me in the first place. We learned in school that Newton concluded the tendency of bodies to move toward each other, but we never discussed the reason for this "tendency". Basically, I can calculate the force of attraction between two bodies given a frame of reference, but I have no idea why this calculation works, much less Einstein's model.

When I first read about it, I thought curvature just meant the path an object travels due to gravitation; instead, from what I've read, curvature seems to replace Newton's idea of gravitation altogether with the notion that space is made of some kind of material with little paths along which bodies travel. I don't see how space can literally be a fabric or a material.