1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Understanding Quantum Physics

1. Oct 24, 2013 #1
    I'm sure you all see threads like this often, but I'm just getting started with understanding Quantum physics in general. I know how broad that statement is, however as you can tell, I don't know how to specify due to my lack of knowledge on the subject. When you all first started your studies, what textbooks did you use to start? Can anyone link me online papers and/or textbooks of which I can buy? I've been reading threads, however I don't understand a lot of the content due to my lack of knowledge. Where did you all start, can anyone outline the basics of Quantum Physics for me, and possibly link work to learn from? Thank you, and pardon my ignorance in the subject.

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 24, 2013 #2
  4. Oct 24, 2013 #3
    How serious do you want your treatment of quantum mechanics to be?

Popular science level? University level?

If the latter, what is your math and physics background?

5. Oct 24, 2013 #4
    I wanted to proceed to a popular science level at this point. I'm attempting to sustain enough information in order to soon help me enter a particular school in my area. Although not mandatory, I wanted to try to learn more (whereas I'm not skilled in the subject at all, obviously) for the sake of interest and through communications I'm having with the school, e.t.c. It's a bit complicated.
    Anyway, I want to attempt to reach at least a popular science level for now, however I will most likely end up taking it farther assuming I get into the school. Thank you for the books, Stevie. I'll order them right away. :)

6. Oct 24, 2013 #5

lisab

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Have you taken (or do you understand) linear algebra?