Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Understanding the Commutator

1. Jul 9, 2012 #1
    Hi!

In my textbook the explanation of the expectation value in general covering any observable [tex] Q [/tex] is:

[tex] \overline{Q} = \int \Psi^\ast (x,t) \hat{Q}\Psi(x,t) dx [/tex]

Then they define the commutator as:

[tex] [\hat{A},\hat{B}] = \hat{A}\hat{B}-\hat{B}\hat{A}[/tex]

Now for position and momentum they give directly it as:

[tex] [\hat{x},\hat{p}] = i\hbar[/tex]

Now my question is: how is that possible? I know what the operators of the observables for both position and momentum are, but I do not understand why the commutator can be derived trough the general form of EXPECTATION value?? Expectation value is a value but the commutator is an operator on operators??
    Can anyone help me with this confusion? Im new to quantum physics. Thanx

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 9, 2012 #2

tiny-tim

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Welcome to PF!

Hi Elekko! Welcome to PF! :smile:

(write "itex" rather than "tex", and it won't keep starting a new line :wink:)
    Are you asking how the LHS is an operator, but the RHS is only a number?

It's because the RHS is really [itex]i\hbar I[/itex], where I is the identity operator (the operator that converts anything to itself) … we don't usually bother to write it. :smile:

4. Jul 9, 2012 #3

Fredrik

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member