1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Uniform Circular Motion of a particle

1. Oct 8, 2005 #1
    Im new at physics and have been looking at this question all day, any help would be greatly appreciated,

here it is

A particle moves along a cirular path over a horizontal xy coordinate system, at constant speed. At time t1 = 4.00s, it is at point (5.oom, 6.00m) with velocity (3.00 m/s)j and acceleration in the positive x direction. At time t2 = 10.0s, it has velocity (-3.00 m/s)i and acceleration in the positive y direction. What are the x and y coordinates of the centre of the circular path.

I have no idea where to start??? Please help!!

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 8, 2005 #2

mezarashi

Homework Helper

The clues help you find two things

1. The center of the circular motion
    2. The radius of motion

Draw out a diagram of a particle under circular motion. At each quarter circle, draw out the vectors for velocity and acceleration. Compare it to your questions problem.

The times give you a clue to finding the radius and subsequently the center of the motion. Within (10 - 4)seconds, the object moved from one part of the circle to another. You know d = vt. You also know that v^2/r defines acceleration in circular motion. A bit tricky, but I hope now you can start thinking about it.

4. Oct 8, 2005 #3
    thanks for the post, but i'm still lost????

5. Oct 8, 2005 #4

mezarashi

Homework Helper

Have you done what I said. Pictures will help you alot:

Draw out a diagram of a particle under circular motion. At each quarter circle, draw out the vectors for velocity and acceleration. Compare it to your questions problem.

6. Oct 8, 2005 #5