1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Schools University Advice

1. Aug 25, 2009 #1
    I'm thinking of moving to a state that has a public university with a decent physics program, in which I have a chance of getting into. I don't have much money on me, so I want to keep the costs low; before applying to the college, I'll be staying in the state for a while, so I'll need affordable apartment costs (under only a $12 000 yearly salary...I'll be applying for a job right when I get there, so it may take a few days to start full time). As a state resident, I should be able to pay less for tuition aside from financial aid. My current options so far are (suggestions for adding more and cutting out some are welcome):

Berkeley
    UC Santa Barbara
    UC LA
    UC San Diego
    University of Illinois - Urbana-Champaign
    University of Colorado Boulder
    University of Michigan - Ann Arbor
    University of Wisconsin - Madison
    University of Washington
    Penn State
    University of Maryland, College Park

Out of this, California seems to be the safest bet considering it has 4 universities on the list...I'm just not sure about living costs...I also heard from a source, that ideally, the monthly rent for an apartment should be below 50% of the monthly income (30% would be the ideal amount); I will most likely not be able to keep that sort of proportion up...even now I'm not keeping that proportion up (quite frankly, I'm not sure I can do that without a college degree). I want to keep all my moving out/in costs under $1700 (including the first month's rent) for the first month...I'm not sure how practical all this sounds, so any advice is appreciated.

Last edited: Aug 25, 2009
  2. jcsd
  3. Aug 25, 2009 #2

thrill3rnit3

Gold Member