What is the Unsolvable Catenary Problem?

• I
  • Thread starter tjhollis1
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Catenary
In summary: $$\log u=\frac{y}{a}+\log \frac{y^2}{a^2}-\log \sqrt{\frac{y^2}{a}}$$... that $$\log u=\log_{10} u+\log_{11} \log_{12} u^2+\log_{13} \log_{14} u^3+\log_{15} \log_{16} u^4+\log_{17} \log_{18} u^5+\log_{19} \log_{20} u^6+\log_{21} \log_{22} u^7+\log_{23} \log_{24}
tjhollis1
TL;DR Summary
I am developing a model for transmission line cables and I need help calculating the cable sag as a function of a couple of variables. It seems like I have enough information to solve this problem, however I am unable to find a solution to this. Please advise.
Hi all,

I am no structural engineer and I have toiled extensively over this for far too long and at this point I am wondering if this problem has a solution with the given variables...

1588950855918.png

It is my understanding that the standard equation for a Catenary is: ##y = a \cdot cosh(\frac {x}{a})##. However, I feel this equation does not apply to my problem (attached pdf or figure to the right).

It seems that everywhere I look, there are Catenary problems such as this source which gives the span as well as the sag and then the problem is solved using the given variables. In my problem, I only have the span, total Tension and differential height.

The following equations are what I have tried (variables are form the source):

$$
\begin{align}
s & = c \cdot sinh(\frac {x} {c}) \\
y^2 - s^2 & = c^2 \\
W & = w_0 \cdot s \\
y & =c \cdot cosh(\frac {x} {c}) \\
T_x & =w_0 \cdot c \\
T & = w_0 \cdot y \\
\end{align}
$$

You see, my problem formulation comes from two transmission towers spaced apart at different elevations, ##P(x_a, y_a)## and ##P(x_b, y_b)##. This is throwing me off, because ultimately I figure it should be the normal equation since I have the span distance, ##d## and then simply add the formula to a line of slope ##mx+y_0##.

There are a couple of cases that I want to look into: