1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Upwards Circular Movement

1. Nov 6, 2014 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    Hello there,

So I have a problem that I can't seem to figure out on my own. I have no background in physics (I haven't taken a physic course as of right now,) but my robotics team requires some math.

I need to find the equation for moving something with a mass of 1.5kg upwards (towards the sky, for clarification) in a circular path, as shown. The radius is approximately .32 meters:
    z1YI6YJ.png

2. Relevant equations
    The equations I have tried to combine in an attempt to solve it are the equations for centrifugal force [F=m(v2/r)] and the force of gravity (9.8m/sec2.) I am uncertain whether or not I am searching in the right area, but I hope someone here can help.

3. The attempt at a solution
    So far, I have tried using centrifugal force with the force of gravity located inside the equation (I believe the equation I tried was [F=m(v2/r)(9.8m/sec2)], where m= 1.5 and v= .5m/sec.

When numbers are plugged in, I got [F=1.5(.5m/sec2/.32m)(9.8m/sec2)]

If I did the math correctly, the answer should be 22.972m/sec2. (I rounded to the thousandths place for all division)

I am not sure if this is correct or not, so any help would be appreciated.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 6, 2014 #2

haruspex

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

You need to clarify how the force is to be applied. Typically, for a motion like that, what you are looking for is a torque rather than a linear force.
    Where does the given speed come from? Is it desired to have it moving steadily at this speed, or is it to start from rest and achieve that speed, or start from rest and average that speed?