Rescuing Baby Bird: Advice Needed

In summary, a baby bird was found in a parking lot with no trees above it. The bird is too young to survive without a momma or pappa bird, so the person brought the bird inside and is trying to find a way to care for it. The bird is expected to die.
leroyjenkens
I found this baby bird in the parking lot with no trees above it. I have no idea how it got there. So I brought it inside and I don't know what to do. It keeps opening its mouth. What can I feed it? Is there any realistic chance this thing will survive? Thanks.
P1010160.JPG

Physics news on Phys.org
Actually, I just read that I could make a make-shift nest and put it in a tree or something that was near where I found it. I think I'm going to do that. I hope the parent birds will find it.

I'm no expert, but I think it's too young to survive without a momma or pappa bird. I would call your local humane society or animal rescue for advice.

One may wish to call a veterinarian or wild life rehabilitator in the one's area.

It's quite complicated.

Birds have a high metabolic rate and a high energy requirement. Bread crumbs and milk are not sufficient. Most baby birds are unable to feed themselves; normally the parents feed them, so putting bird seeds or worms in the box does no good. You have to put the food into the baby. At first you may have to pry open the beak to do this, but soon the bird will realize that you are the source of food ( mama ) and will open its beak and squawk whenever it is hungry or when it hears you approach. Feed it when it asks for it. When it has enough it will collapse and sleep until it is hungry again.