Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Uses for Lie derivative

1. Sep 7, 2013 #1
    Hello everybody, Im an undergrad physics student and I'm taking some "Geometry and Topology for physicist" course. We saw Lie Derivative some time ago and I still dont know how can I use it on physics, can anyone give me some examples? thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 7, 2013 #2

D H

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

As a starter, one that you are already very well familiar with is angular velocity.

4. Sep 7, 2013 #3
    You can use it to prove the Poincaré Lemma and compute the local potential of a closed differential smooth form. You can use it when you are computing the derivative of an integral on a manifold that depends on a the parameter you're conducting a derivative with, like the general case shown in this page : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Differentiation_under_the_integral_sign.

5. Sep 7, 2013 #4

atyy

Science Advisor

The Lie derivative is the commutator of two flows, ie. whether the order of doing two different operations matters. The commutator is called the Lie bracket, and the traditional example is how you can parallel park using two operations.
    http://www.math.cornell.edu/~goldberg/Talks/Flows-Olivetti.pdf
    http://rigtriv.wordpress.com/2007/10/01/parallel-parking/

The Lie derivative is also used to define Killing vectors in general relativity. For a free falling test particle (ie. under no forces except gravity = spacetime curvature), the Killing vectors give conserved quantities along the particle's trajectory.
    http://ned.ipac.caltech.edu/level5/March01/Carroll3/Carroll5.html

6. Sep 7, 2013 #5

WannabeNewton

Science Advisor