Using summation with probability question

Help With Probability Question

i have been working on this for a week can anyone help?

NOTE: Look at reply from moodoo for proper matematical symbols!!

I need the probability of being dealt a bridge hand with at least 5 hearts.

I have to possible answers but I have never done this before and dont know the proper way to type them but here goes...

1.)
summation sign with 13 on the top and k=5 on bottom x (C 13,k)(C 13,13-K)/C 52,13

2)same summation as above x C 13,k (.25)to the power of k(.75)to the power of 13-k/C 52,13

HELP WITH PROBABILITY QUESTION :confused: :confused: :confused:

Last edited:

Answers and Replies

Yikes, that's some messy notation you got there...
Let me clean that up for you...

1. [tex]\sum_{k=5}^{13}{\frac{\left(\begin{array}{cc}13\\k\end{array}\right)\left(\begin{array}{cc}13\\13-k\end{array}\right)}{\left(\begin{array}{cc}52\\13\end{array}\right)}}[/tex]

2. [tex]\sum_{k=5}^{13}{\frac{\left(\begin{array}{cc}13\\k\end{array}\right)*.25^{k}*.75^{13-k}}{\left(\begin{array}{cc}52\\13\end{array}\right)}}[/tex]

Although I am a bit shaky on where your delimeters are. Tell me if any of the above aren't what you had in mind.

EDIT: Maybe that's more like it?

Last edited:
summation

Yes, that is exactly what I meant. You are amazing. But is this the right answer for my question? Are both of these binomial formulas and is it ok to use a binomial formula with cards?

Thanks so much for your time>

Last edited:
xanthym
Science Advisor
spikemurphy said:
Yes, that is exactly what I meant. You are amazing. But is this the right answer for my question? Are both of these binomial formulas and is it ok to use a binomial formula with cards?

Thanks so much for your time>
Both your solutions are INcorrect.