Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Using summation with probability question

1. Mar 30, 2005 #1
    Help With Probability Question

i have been working on this for a week can anyone help?

NOTE: Look at reply from moodoo for proper matematical symbols!!

I need the probability of being dealt a bridge hand with at least 5 hearts.

I have to possible answers but I have never done this before and dont know the proper way to type them but here goes...

1.)
    summation sign with 13 on the top and k=5 on bottom x (C 13,k)(C 13,13-K)/C 52,13

2)same summation as above x C 13,k (.25)to the power of k(.75)to the power of 13-k/C 52,13

HELP WITH PROBABILITY QUESTION :confused: :confused: :confused:

Last edited: Mar 30, 2005
  2. jcsd
  3. Mar 30, 2005 #2
    Yikes, that's some messy notation you got there...
    Let me clean that up for you...

1. [tex]\sum_{k=5}^{13}{\frac{\left(\begin{array}{cc}13\\k\end{array}\right)\left(\begin{array}{cc}13\\13-k\end{array}\right)}{\left(\begin{array}{cc}52\\13\end{array}\right)}}[/tex]

2. [tex]\sum_{k=5}^{13}{\frac{\left(\begin{array}{cc}13\\k\end{array}\right)*.25^{k}*.75^{13-k}}{\left(\begin{array}{cc}52\\13\end{array}\right)}}[/tex]

Although I am a bit shaky on where your delimeters are. Tell me if any of the above aren't what you had in mind.

EDIT: Maybe that's more like it?

4. Mar 30, 2005 #3
    summation

Yes, that is exactly what I meant. You are amazing. But is this the right answer for my question? Are both of these binomial formulas and is it ok to use a binomial formula with cards?

Thanks so much for your time>

5. Mar 30, 2005 #4

xanthym

Science Advisor

Both your solutions are INcorrect.