1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Vector question

1. Aug 9, 2009 #1
    Hi All,

I'm currently studying vector projections and the vector dot product. I ran into a problem on the homework I wasn't quite sure how to tackle..... Any suggestions?

The problem is stated as follows:

Determine ||v+w|| if v and w are unit vectors seperated by an angle of [tex]\frac{\pi}{6}[/tex]

Thanks!

Josh

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 9, 2009 #2

Hootenanny

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Welcome to Physics Forums.

HINT: Can you express the magnitude of the sum as a series dot products?

4. Aug 9, 2009 #3
    Thanks.

Hmm I don't follow you.

5. Aug 9, 2009 #4

Hootenanny

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

What is the definition of the magnitude of a vector, in terms of scalar products?

6. Aug 9, 2009 #5

Well I know the scalar product(dot product) is defined to be:

u*v=||u||*||v||cos[tex]\theta[/tex]

I've been lookin at it for the past hour or so and can't put it together how this definition applies.

7. Aug 9, 2009 #6

Hootenanny

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Well you also know that for any vector, a,

||a|| = (a.a)1/2

Does that help?

8. Aug 9, 2009 #7
    Not really, I just totally don't see the direction your going in.... I don't have any information about the vector's components.

9. Aug 9, 2009 #8

Hootenanny

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Try explicity computing the magnitude of the sum, i.e.

||u + w|| = ...

10. Aug 9, 2009 #9
    Sorry Hootenanny, I'm lost....

Josh

11. Aug 9, 2009 #10

VietDao29

Homework Helper

Ok, so here's the main formula that we'll use to solve the problem.