Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Vector spaces

1. Oct 17, 2009 #1
    Hello, I'm studying linear algebra and wanted to know what is the difference between a "vector space" and a "vector space over field F".
    I know that a vector space over field F satisfies the 8 axioms, but does a vector space satisfy this also?

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 17, 2009 #2
    A field could be a set of real, or complex numbers, or a set of rational numbers whose addition and multiplication is well defined.

4. Oct 17, 2009 #3
    This doesn't answer my question, I want to know the difference between a vector space and a vector space over field F.

5. Oct 17, 2009 #4

Fredrik

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

There's no difference. Every vector space is a vector space over a field. The field is usually the real numbers or the complex numbers, but it could be any field. A vector space over [itex]\mathbb R[/itex] is often called a "real vector space", and a vector space over [itex]\mathbb C[/itex] is often called a "complex vector space".

6. Oct 17, 2009 #5
    Right this would make sense. So that means the 8 axioms for a "Vector Space over a field F" also hold for a "Vector space".

Because i know that the basic defin of a vector space is that:
    1) It contains a non empty set V whose elements are vectors
    2) A field F whose elements are scalars
    3) A binary operation + on V Under which V is closed
    4) A multiplication . of a vector by a scalar.
    So on top of this the 8 axioms (That hold for a vector space over a field F) also hold for a vector space (i cant be asked to write all axioms)?

7. Oct 17, 2009 #6

Fredrik

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member