1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Vector subtraction question

1. Sep 5, 2006 #1
    I'm in gr. 12 physics right now(just started school today), and we started some review work. This is a new school, so I'm guessing some of the things taught by the different teahers vary, which explains why I don't understand this question. Here's the question word for word, there's also a small amount of information before the question, which I'll also post:

The vector subtraction A - Bis defined as the vector addition of A and -B, where -B has the same magnitude as B, but is in the opposite direction. Thus A- B = A + (-B).

Ex 4. Given that A = 35m/s [27 degrees N of E] and B = 47 m/s [E], determine the change in velocity C = A - B.

Now, I'm only a high school physics student, but the way I know to calculate a change in velocity is v_2 - V_1. This question threw me off completely, and I have no idea what I should do. The only thing I came up with, was this, and I'm sure it's wrong, but I'll post it anyway:

C = A - B
    = 35 - 47
    = -12

Therefore the change in velocity is -12 m/s.

I don't think this can be right. Number one, the velocity is increasing from A to B, so I don't think the answer should be negative. And number two, this says nothing about the change in direction, only speed.

Someone please help soon, thanks in advance.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 5, 2006 #2

Chi Meson

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

You have not taken direction into account.

A is 35 m/s, 27 degrees n of e.
    Find the componant north and the componant east.

4. Sep 5, 2006 #3
    Ok, so I should find the North and East components of the vector, and then use that in the equation instead?

5. Sep 5, 2006 #4

Hootenanny

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member