Vectors and "displacement"

In summary, the conversation discusses the definitions of vectors as something with size and direction, and as "displacements in space." The concept of displacement as a vector itself and the representation of positions, forces, and other quantities by vectors with components is also mentioned. The conversation concludes that vector components represent the same quantity as the original vector and serve as a convenient abstraction for calculations.
HyperActive
I'm just starting to learn about vectors, and I was trying to figure out what the vector components mean physically. I've seen two definitions of vectors, and the first is a that a vector is something with a size and a direction. The second definition I saw defined vectors as "displacements in space" and that given an example vector, say (3,4,1) that would represent a displacement of 3 in the x direction, 4 in the y direction and 1 in the z direction.

This made a lot of sense to me intuitively - that looking at it as displacement would explain why parallel vectors are equal and why vectors are coordinate-independent. However, although I don't know much about it, I know displacement is defined to be a vector in itself, so I can't see how it could be part of the definition of a vector.

So my question is, do vector components represent displacement? And if the don't, what physical quantity/term do they represent?

Physics news on Phys.org
Vector components are just other vectors, albeit ones which are usually parallel with a coordinate system or other convenient reference. Vectors can be used to represent positions in space, forces, moments, or other quantities which are composed of a magnitude and a direction.

HyperActive said:
So my question is, do vector components represent displacement? And if the don't, what physical quantity/term do they represent?