What is the Relationship Between Velocity and Drag in the Drag Equation?

In summary,-The force of drag is partially dependent upon velocity and can be found by testing at different velocities.-The drag coefficient is non-constant and depends on velocity.-To find cruise velocity you need to know other information, such as cruise at angle of attack or cruise CL.
Aeroguy82
While I understand this is a basic question, I am a beginner with regard to fluid dynamics etc. To start, say you have a propulsion system capable of X Newtons and a weight of Y kg. I realize max speed occurs at the point at which the force of drag is equal to the force of acceleration, and the aircraft will neither be accelerating nor decelerating (inertial motion will be achieved). Here is where my problem occurs: Fd (Force of Drag) is partially dependent upon velocity as V^2 is part of the equation. However, the drag coefficient is non-constant as it too relies upon velocity. Can X N/Y kg be the reference velocity to find the force of drag (assuming all other quantities are known) or does max speed simply have to be tested for in another way? I can test for Fd at different velocities, but have no idea how to plot this on a graph or set it equal to Fa as Cd also depends on velocity. Any help would be appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
Well there are few things you need to clear up before anyone can answer your question.

-Weight is not in kg. The unit kg is mass.
-Weight/Mass (N/kg) does not have the units of velocity. It has the units of acceleration.
-Maximum velocity is not achieved when Thrust = Drag. This condition is known as cruise. Cruise is when you are not accelerating and are at a constant Velocity.
-Cd is a coefficient and dimensionless. Setting Fd = Cd yields nothing useful.

Now to answer your last question, you can find cruise velocity if you other know things, such as cruise at angle of attack or cruise CL.

Last edited:
First of all thanks for replying!