1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Velocity of electron

1. Oct 9, 2005 #1
    What is an equation to determine the velocity of an electron moving parallel to a magnetic field? Or in other words in the same direction if the magnetic field.

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 9, 2005 #2

SpaceTiger

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

[tex]\frac{d\vec{v}}{dt}=\frac{q_e}{m_e}\vec{v} \times \vec{B}[/tex]

where [itex]\vec{v}[/itex] is the velocity of the electron, qe is the electron charge, me is the electron mass, [itex]\vec{B}[/itex] is the magnetic field, and t is time.

Can you figure out what this equation reduces to if [itex]\vec{v}[/itex] is parallel to [itex]\vec{B}[/itex]?

4. Oct 13, 2005 #3
    Thanks for the equation. But I'm not that good at math. I don't know what d stands for and I don't have a value for the velocity. Can someone show me how to do the equation. qe electron charge is 1.60217646x10^-19 coulombs. me electron mass is 9.10938188x10^-31kg. t time is 1 second. B magnetic field is .000232496073 tesla's.

5. Oct 17, 2005 #4
    Does any one know how to do this equation? I want to know how to do it since I don't have the value for velocity and the value for d. And what do you do with the values on the other side of the = sign? Can someone please show me how this equation works out.

6. Oct 17, 2005 #5

Gokul43201

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

The velocity of the electron has nothing to do with the magnetic field (in this case).

If this is a textbook or homework question, post the exact question (completely).

PS : What grade are you in, and where did this question come from ?

7. Oct 18, 2005 #6