1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Verify Stokes' Theorem

1. Jun 7, 2008 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    A = sin([tex]\phi[/tex]/z)* a([tex]\phi[/tex])

I'm having problem verifying Stokes Theorem. I have to verify the theorem over the upper half of the sphere with radius b and the sphere is centered at the origin. The problem also says z > = 0

Could someone help me with this.

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 7, 2008 #2

Dick

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

No one can help you until you try to make some effort to solve it on your own. How might you try to do this?

4. Jun 8, 2008 #3
    Well i'm new to EM theory and i'm just soo stuck on this whole vector calculus thing. I know stokes theorem state's that Integral of [tex]\oint(A.dl)[/tex] = [tex]\int(\nabla x A).dS[/tex]

So I have to evaluate the 2 integrals separately.
    The part that i'm stuck on is how to evaluate [tex]\oint(A.dl)[/tex] integral when no equation is given or no boundaries are given...

5. Jun 8, 2008 #4
    Also in this problem if I were to evaluate the RHS integral, since there is no r or theta, would the del x A be 0?

6. Jun 8, 2008 #5

Dick

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

You are going to have trouble computing curl of A or the line integral because it doesn't look to me like the A you've stated is even a vector. Can you check you've transcribed the problem correctly?

7. Jun 8, 2008 #6
    Yes I have double checked it. It's actually called F, but I don't think that should matter. It is a vector for sure, because the problem states, you are given a vector field.
    Any suggestions?

8. Jun 8, 2008 #7

Dick

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper