Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Very dumb question

1. Oct 15, 2007 #1
    I have read that Edwin Hubble first noted the "reddening" of galaxies, and that this redshift was evidence for the idea that the universe is expanding.

Now, why do none of the galaxies seen in pictures from the Hubble Space Telescope appear to be red?

Does redshift simply mean that the light from the galaxies is reaching us at longer wavelengths, or does it literally mean that galaxies ought to look red when seen through a telescope?

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 15, 2007 #2

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

I'm no expert, but the shift to longer wavelengths of the emission and absorption spectra is small. Certainly not enough to be noticed by the naked eye -- you need a sensitive spectrometer. You match up the spectra of far-away stars with the spectra of nearby stars, and see that the spectral lines of the distant star are shifted slightly in the direction of longer wavelengths. Like in this picture:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Red_shift

4. Oct 15, 2007 #3

SpaceTiger

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Depends on which galaxies you're referring to. The ones very nearby will only have very small redshifts that won't be noticable to the naked eye, as berkeman already said. However, if you look at the Hubble Deep Field or Ultradeep Field, the galaxies should look quite a bit redder than, say, M31, even without a spectrograph. This is because they are much more distant. Crudely speaking, the more distant the galaxy, the more its light is redshifted.

5. Oct 16, 2007 #4

Garth

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Holocene, if you look at very distant galaxies, such as those in the Hubble Ultra Deep Field, then you will find they are red.

The most distant ones are those circled in green in that remarkable photograph.

Garth

Last edited: Oct 17, 2007
  6. Oct 16, 2007 #5