VERY simple question about motion

• Thread starter Signifier
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Motion
In summary, the object's z-velocity as a function of time with a constant acceleration will be (Az - g)t.
Signifier
Okay, this is high school physics I know but I still need to ask it.

Say I give something a constant acceleration A straight up into the air (A = [0,0,+Az]). If I ignore drag, then the object's z-velocity as a function of time with this constant acceleration will be

(Az - g)t

(where Az is the z-component of the acceleration) if the initial z-velocity at time t = 0 is 0. Am I correct?

Next question: say that an object is traveling straight up through the air with a constant velocity V0. Is the object's z-position as a function of time equal to

V0t - 0.5gt^2 + Z0

(where Z0 is the initial z position) or is it something else?

Sorry if I didn't word these questions right - I'm still very new to this.

Physics news on Phys.org
If the object were traveling straight up at a constant velocity you wouldn't have the 0.5gt^2 term, this case would be equivilant to having Az=g in your previous example.

Signifier said:
Okay, this is high school physics I know but I still need to ask it.

Say I give something a constant acceleration A straight up into the air (A = [0,0,+Az]). If I ignore drag, then the object's z-velocity as a function of time with this constant acceleration will be

(Az - g)t

(where Az is the z-component of the acceleration) if the initial z-velocity at time t = 0 is 0. Am I correct?

No.

Don`t confuse forces with acceleration. It`s confusing when you say that you ''give something a constant acceleration Az''. If this is really what you mean, then you mean that you applied a force stronger than gravity in such a way that the net acceleration is Az (which I assume positive from your statement ''staright up in the air''). Then the velocity is Az t! Period!