Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Violation of Causality.

1. Jul 23, 2006 #1
    I was having an argument with some of my friends last night and I needed to explain why faster than light travel or infomation travelling faster than c violates causality. Unfortunately I studied this a long time ago and dont quite remember. Could anyone give me a brief explanation why? I remember a demonstration involving reference frames but I can't for the life of me put it together now.

Thanks in advance.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 23, 2006 #2

selfAdjoint

Staff Emeritus
    Gold Member
    Dearly Missed

David, perhaps you mean how it violates causality rather than why? The how is that if you can go faster than light, SOME inertial observers will see you moving back in time; putting your own movements together with reports from those observers you can send messages or travel into your own past. This can all be diagrammed on a space-time plot.

4. Jul 23, 2006 #3

pervect

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

You might try reading through

http://sheol.org/throopw/tachyon-pistols.html

Note that there can be more to this issue. There are some rather far-out schemes (like wormholes) that might theoeretically allow FTL travel without violating causality (i.e. no closed time-like curves) that are also completely compatible with relativity.

The wormhole scheme requires a "censorship" principle which destroys wormholes that become time-machines in order to maintain causality. This is not quite as far out as it seems (though it's still pretty far out), because quantum vacuum fluctuations would tend to become infinite in a wormhole at the instant it becomes a time machine. This would tend to destroy the wormhole.