1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Virginia Universities

1. Sep 20, 2007 #1
    I am a community college student, that will be soon transferring into a Virginia University. However, I am uncertain which university is best. I want to pursue a major in mathematics and physics, and I have been considering either Virginia Tech, or University of Virginia. I am uncertain which has a better program for these (although I am assuming Virginia Tech), or if there are other universities in Virginia that would be an even better option.

Thank you for your suggestions, and information.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 22, 2007 #2
    Hey,

My suggestion is to talk to a couple of the mathematics/physics professors at your community college and see what their opinions are about UVA vs VT for a mathematics/physics major.

In addition, contact the departments!

Most mathematics/physics departments are always looking for a few more mathematics/physics majors and would probably be more than happy to answer your questions.

Finally, consider contacting some of the students, either undergrad or grad and ask them about their experiences and fields of focus at that university.

In addition, I am sure you are already aware of the tranfer articulation agreements for the Virginia Community College System (VCCS) which make the transfer process more seemless for the Virginia CC student. These are nice to keep in mind when applying to either.

Also, consider the following mathematics competitions since you are mathematics major,

The Virginia Tech Regional Mathematics Contest
    http://math.vt.edu/events/competitions/Vtregional/index.html

The National "Putnam Exam" offered by the Mathematical Association of America (MAA)
    http://math.scu.edu/putnam/