Calculate Volume of Products in NH3 + Cl2 Reaction

• Chemistry
  • Thread starter Duderonimous
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Moles Volume
In summary: Maybe your method is easy because i am very new to this mole concept and have learned only something about it, so i thought of applying POAC...:)I would elaborate, but it will give too much information for OP, and it would be against forum rules. We can get back to it in a week from now (if nothing changes).
Duderonimous

Homework Statement

A mixture is completed from 15.0L of ammonia and 15.0L chlorine measured at the same conditions, these compounds react according to the following equation

2NH3(g) + 3Cl2(g) yields N2(g) + 6HCl(g)

When the reaction is completed, what is the volume of each gas? Assume the final volumes are measured under identical conditions.

Homework Equations

Maybe Avogadros law

The Attempt at a Solution

To be honest I do not know where to start

Physics news on Phys.org
Everything in this problem shares the same unit, (Liter for Volume). What you need to do is figure out which one of the two given gases is the limiting reactant, and then use that to calculate the yield of the two product gases.

You could start by taking either the ammonia or chlorine and calculating it in the ratio given by the balanced equation to the other one to find out which one is limiting (if any at all).

Since no conditions were specified, perhaps you can assume they are ideal gases?

For an ideal gas at standard temperature and pressure the molar volume is 22.4 L/mol. You could use this to find the moles and then you can use stoicheometry to determine each product, again converting back to liters using the molar volume.

Norfonz said:
Since no conditions were specified, perhaps you can assume they are ideal gases?