Want to get started with CPLDs

• Thread starter saad87
  • Start date
In summary, the author is considering whether to learn VHDL or Verilog, and is also confused about which development kit to get. He recommends getting the free version of the development kit and reading and programming it, and warns against driving the Preset and Reset of FFs. He recommends starting small and learning a language before going into more complex design.
saad87
I want to get started with programming CPLDs. However, I'm confused about which development kit to get? I have about $200 to spend. I feel that Altera has slightly better software - their Web version is free, it seems. So I'm mostly interested in that but have my options open.

I'm also wondering weather I should initially learn VHDL or Verilog? I've found a great book, titled Digital Design with CPLD Applications and VHDL. I'm finding the book easy to understand and this is important to me as I have very little experience with HDLs. But I did take a course in Handel-C for FPGAs when in school - though I'm not sure how helpful that will be.

Any suggestions on how to get started would be appreciated.

Engineering news on Phys.org
Most jobs I saw asked for VHDL at the time, I would go with VHDL or whatever more popular now as I have not been in the job market for 6 years. I used to be very good with AHDL and Quartas 6 years ago, but I did not see much demand of this at the time.