1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Water Pressure Energy

1. Sep 8, 2012 #1
    I recently watched a documentary on the Marianas Trench and took special note to the crushing capacity of the water pressure at up to 11km creating 16,000 psi of pressure. Being an avid mechanic, i work with today's combustion engine which can generate about 600psi in each cylinder, using the power in multiple cylinders to turn the crank. I have also worked with many spring operated mechanism when taking apart everything i see.

I am beginning to try and build a prototype engine who's cylinders are driven by water pressure, ballast and spring, any and all input would be greatly appreciated.

Equipment needed list:
    * Battery1(will start with 0 charge) for receiving power from the engine, to be measure of success - surface
    * Battery2(charged, used by the compressor when direct solar power < req) - surface
    * anchor line from floor to the surface
    * engine cylinder - anchor line runs through center of the engine platform
    * spring - rated to Xatm connected to engine cylinder, maintains full open at Xatm
    * mechanism to measure ATMs connected to engine
    * ballast tank - attached to engine
    * compressed air tank - attached/connected to the ballast tank
    * underwater air compressor - attached/connected to the compressed air tank
    - air line (strong structure req.)- connects underwater air compressor to the surface
    - solar panel n line- connects underwater air compressor via power line the to surface

The concept being that the following actions would allow the engine to support its own function.