Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Wave functions

1. Dec 10, 2005 #1

daniel_i_l

Gold Member

Why is the WF of the photon a physical wave - the EM wave, but the WF of all other matter are imaginary?

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 10, 2005 #2

ZapperZ

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

Where did you get the idea that the wavefunction for the photon is a "physical wave"? The EM wave that you get from the classical Maxwell equations is not the wavefunction of the photon.

Zz.

4. Dec 10, 2005 #3
    But what is their realationship??? I asked that at PF already a couple of times and unfortunately never got a clear answer. Could someone be so kind and help?

5. Dec 10, 2005 #4
    i'm no expert but the way i see it is that a wavefuction is just a mathematical abstraction used to predict the probibility of a photon's location, So wavefunctions aren't exactly physical objects you can "see" in a everyday sense

6. Dec 11, 2005 #5

daniel_i_l

Gold Member

Does the EM wave have to do with the wave function of the photon? Are they connected?

7. Dec 11, 2005 #6

Tez

For certain quantum states of light, if you compute the mean value of the electric and magnetic field operators you find that they oscillate exactly according to the waves of the classical Maxwell theory. This is the most precise connection.

Another connection is to do with the "mode structure" - you can solve for the modes in a cavity, for example, by solving Mawell's equations with the boundary conditions. The quantum mechanical modes will be the same - its just that now its quantum states (not classical fields) that "pick up" the mode labels. And of course quantum states of light in these modes may behave quite differently to classical ones...

8. Dec 11, 2005 #7
    What is the photon?
    The first, it is classical EM waves.
    The second.