Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Wave-Particle Duality

1. Jan 11, 2010 #1
    Hi!

I have been reading a little about quantum physics (I am in no way a physicist or scientist), and am trying to get my head round Wave / Particle duality.

The only way I can visualise it is similar to the way to dsp / computer audio; a stream of particles oscillating in space. Particles travelling in the Z-axis, and oscillating on the Y-axis.

Is this anywhere near right? (Sorry if this is a stupid question, I am completely new to the subject)

Many thanks,

Tom.

Last edited: Jan 11, 2010
  2. jcsd
  3. Jan 11, 2010 #2

Fredrik

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

That wouldn't explain the interference pattern in the double slit experiment. See e.g. the currently active thread about double slit experiments. Link.

4. Jan 11, 2010 #3
    I've answered a question on wave particle duality before, heres what I posted:

Bohr explained wave particle duality using the idea of complimentarity. Have you ever seen that picture where if you think about it in one way it looks like an old woman and if you think about it another way it looks like a young woman?

Here is the link if you haven't:

http://www.teachnet.com/graphics/powertools/puzzles/illusion1.gif