Understanding Waves Dispersion: A, B, & C

In summary, the conversation discusses equations and concepts related to wave motion and group velocity. The first part (A) talks about a graph showing a transverse displacement and the resultant motion of a traveling wave. The speed of the envelope is also mentioned, but the person does not understand how it was derived. The second part (B) mentions a system with a dispersion relation and the variables involved, but the person is confused about how they relate. Finally, part (C) discusses the dependence of k on frequency in a beaded string and how it exhibits high frequency cut off. The person is unsure of how to find k as a function using the given equations and mentions a helpful simulation for further understanding.
belleamie
Hi I'm studying for a test, and in the suggested reading book review has a few equations that they talk about but I'm not don't really understand how it jumps from one thing to another? the book is very vauge... I've broken the parts i don't understand into A,B,C (I used w = omega)

A)IT shows a graph, explain that the end of a string is given a transverse displacement phi=cosw1t+cosw2t where the two frequencies are almost equal and w1>w2 the resultant motion is a traveling wave of angular frequency (w1+w2)/2, modulated by n envelope which is a traveling wave of (w1-w2)/2 There the speed of this envelop is (w1-w2)/(k1-k2) ...? I don't understand how they got that?

B) A system with dipersion relation w=ak^r...a and r are constants because v(sub g)=xv(sub phi) at all wave frequencies. i duno where then got the other variables v(sub g)? i know that v(sub phi) =c(1+ak^2)^1/2 but i don't understand how they relate?