Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Web Development - any recommendations?

1. May 18, 2004 #1
    Can somebody recommend any good beginner book on PHP and MySql. And any advice would be appreciated as well.

This one was sent to me and I'm picking it up
    PHP and MySql

2. jcsd
  3. May 18, 2004 #2

Cod

"PHP and MySQL Web Development, Second Edition" written by Luke Welling & Laura Thomson

"MySQL and PHP: Visual QuickPro Guide" written by Larry Ullman

Those 2 books helped me start learning PHP/SQL development when I was a beginner. Probably the 2 best books related to PHP/SQL I've ever read; and believe me, I've read more than my fair share. Definitely pick them up if you're serious about learning the basic and advanced methods of development using PHP and SQL hand-in-hand. Also, check out some online tutorials from here: http://www.w3schools.com/ . There are abunch of good "Server Side scripting" tutorials at that website you can learn from.

Good luck!

4. May 24, 2004 #3
    Thanks Cod, that was a very good site as well.

5. May 24, 2004 #4
    I think sources or tutorials for web development like script-languages, database like mySQL are also available on the net...You can come to some web development forums and do a search on them...You sure get the results you want...
    I am not learning about web, or it is acutally and absolutely out of my interest...but during the time I went search for some programming languages forums a month ago, search engines brought me a bunch of them..:sm:

Last edited: May 24, 2004
  6. May 25, 2004 #5