Learning General Relativity: What Do I Need to Know?

In summary: I'm not sure. In summary, you should read some popular books on General Relativity and start with Special Relativity. You should also talk to your high school physics teacher to see if they can help you out.
FantasyQueen
Hello! I am a grade 8 student and I'm very interested in General Relativity. However, I don't believe that I have the background information to fully understand. What do I need to know in order to learn General Relativity? I'm certain that I need to know certain mathematical concepts, but I don't know exactly WHAT those mathematical concepts are.
Also, are there any books that you would recommend for me to learn General Relativity from?

Physics news on Phys.org

Well, this is far above your capabilities right now (I'm assuming), but you'll firstly need a basis of calculus, special relativity, differential geometry, linear algebra, tensor calculus, Newtonian mechanics. A majority of the subjects you'll take in the first 3 years of an undergraduate degree are necessary. But I'm sure you can grasp the basic idea without the mathematics. This is essentially the math: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mathematics_of_general_relativity.

You can learn about GR by reading some popular books on the subject; Hawking, Greene, and Carroll have a few. But you can't learn GR itself just yet; that's a graduate level physics subject. You need a strong background in college math (calculus, linear algebra, differential geometry) to take a shot at it.

There are really three tiers at which you can really learn anything substantive about general relativity.

Tier I: Primarily algebra based with light calculus. This is suitable for a first or second year university student. Prior knowledge of physics should include the basic rudiments of mechanics from the F=ma point of view. The hallmark textbook is: https://www.amazon.com/dp/020138423X/?tag=pfamazon01-20