1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What Can I Do To Fix My Mess?

1. Nov 27, 2012 #1
    I'm relatively new to the forums, so apologies in advance if I've broken any rules in this post.
    /WallOfText
    I am a sophomore student at a University of California. I entered school without much direction on what I wanted to study outside of it was science that interested me. My first year was not exactly great and I treated my academic responsibilities with immaturity. I left my first year with a 3.02 GPA and having failed Calc 2 (Quarter system variant, so really just integral calc- no series)... twice. Once with an F and once with a D. I was doing things like not going to class, even after failing the class the first time.

I think I've finally figured out what direction I want to go in. I'm primarily interested in Nuclear Engineering. The particular university I'm at doesn't happen to offer that program and has little to do in terms of research in Nuclear Engineering. The only solution I see is to transfer to some program in Nuclear Engineering, but I am almost certain that my Calc 2 grades will kill that in its tracks. My current university says I should not take Calc 2 anywhere else, but I feel like that may not be the best decision to help me in transferring.

I'm not sure if this matters, but I'm currently taking
    Calc 3 (Obviously has Calc 2 as a prerequisite)
    Linear Algebra (Has Calc 2 as a prerequisite)
    Physics 1 (Has Calc 2 as a prerequisite)
    Some random Anthropology General Education class