Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What dark energy?

1. Dec 26, 2009 #1
    I am a layman in these matters, but hear me out... The Universe was ejected from the primordial singularity, and that's all the dark energy there was. Light that is coming out of a gravity well is red-shifted. ‘Long ago’ and ‘far away’ mean the same thing. So, the Universe is bounded by its Beginning - by the Singularity that preceded the Big Bang, located 14 billion light years away all around us. Is it not that the red-shift we see in light coming from so-called receding galaxies is rather due to the fact that this light is climbing out of a gravity well (relative to us) at whose bottom lies the Big Bang Singularity beyond? WE are much farther from that bottom than those galaxies are, as they are farther in the past than we are. The light getting to us is more tired after the climb, just as the Cosmic Background Microwave radiation is. The Big Bang black hole still exists just as those galaxies do, out there in the distance, orchestrating cosmic developments through the medium of the speed of gravitational waves, which speed (the speed of light) I suspect has been increasing over time, depending on where you are on the timeline - your distance from the peripheral 'Centre'. I saw reports of a supernova located not much more than 300,000 years after the Big Bang, when the Universe was about a million or so light years across, we are told. It vexes me why it took 13.7 billion years (or so) years for this light to traverse such a small Universe to get to us if the speed of light had not been much lower then. Please someone, critique my reasoning and enlighten me.

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 28, 2009 #2