Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What do you think of UofT's EngSci Program?

1. May 8, 2005 #1
    Just wondering what was the general opinion of UofT's Engineering Science program, if there is any? Also I was wondering which other universities offer a Nanoengineering program?

Cheers
    Athalus

2. jcsd
  3. May 9, 2005 #2

AKG

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

I took first year EngSci at U of T last year (that is, 2003-04). I came from a pretty good high school, where I graduated with a 93% average. I finished first year Eng Sci with an 89.5% average, pulled down largely by "philosophy" because the philosophy course was... odd. On the other hand, most people I know came in with a 95% and ended up between 60 and low 70's. Many people failed or left (by the second year, I think 2/3 left, 1/3 of the total leaving by first semester's end). It is indeed possible to do very well in Eng. Sci., even with ease, but the chances are low, and you'd probably need a good idea of how your high school stood in relation to others in order to make a reasonable prediction (important if you are apprehensive about taking a program that you might struggles with, but not if you're expecting a challenge). So taking the statistics into consideration, the difficulty of the program will be a factor you may need to consider (it certainly turned out to be for some people I knew).