Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I What exactly does this expression mean?

1. Mar 9, 2016 #1
    Given: Ra[bcd] = 0
    What permutations of bcd make this expression 0? TIA for your response.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 9, 2016 #2

Samy_A

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Rabcd+Racdb+Radbc=0

4. Mar 9, 2016 #3

Ibix

Science Advisor

I think this is an anti-symmetrised tensor, not a symmetrised one, isn't it?

5. Mar 9, 2016 #4
    Yes it is an antisymmetric tensor.

6. Mar 9, 2016 #5
    Samy, I'm afraid I'm too thick to understand your answer. Can you elaborate further please? IIRC, this expression only eliminates one expression from the 21 possible components.

7. Mar 9, 2016 #6

Ibix

Science Advisor

I'm pretty new to index gymnastics too, so check what I am saying with other sources.

I think Samy has written ##R_{a (bcd)}##, not ##R_{a [bcd]}##. The latter is ##R_{abcd}- R_{acbd} +R_{acdb} -R_{adcb} +R_{adbc} -R_{abdc}=0##. Note that every ordering of the last three indices appears and that any pair of orderings that you can make by swapping two indices have opposite signs.

Both Samy's and my expressions are interpreted to mean that for any a, b, c, d, that statement must be valid. Because you are permuting b, c and d, though, there is a lot of replication in the expressions. a,b,c,d=0,1,2,3 and 0,1,3,2 yield identical expressions, for example.

8. Mar 9, 2016 #7
    What I'm looking for is a rule to help me understand. For instance, for R[ab][cd], R = 0 when a=b and c=d. Is there similar rule for the antisymmetric part of [bcd]?

9. Mar 9, 2016 #8

Ibix

Science Advisor

It's possible, for example, that Samy has used the symmetries of the Riemann tensor to simplify his expression. I'd need to think about it with a pen and paper.

Perhaps best to wait for Samy or someone else to clarify...

10. Mar 9, 2016 #9

robphy

Science Advisor