Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What is a differential.

1. Sep 20, 2010 #1

I am an engineering student that has recently taken it upon myself to try and pickup some math skills in my own time. When reviewing the concept of a differential I was a little bit lost. To be honest I don't understand exactly what it is, or what it could be "good for". IE how to apply it.

The book gives its definition of dy/dx = f'(x). Well what exactly is dy, and dx? Most problems seem to be involved with calculating percentages of errors, but what in general does a differential solve?

Also the book I'm reading keeps bringing up dx in integration by mentioning (don't you remember this from differentials). Well yes I remember seeing it, but now I don't understand why it is appearing in integration. If anybody can explain this to me I'd appreciate it. I feel like I only know the mechanical steps of differentiation/integration and didn't really understand what half this stuff was actually doing.
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 20, 2010 #2
    In short dy/dx represents the slope of the function y(x) and it could be a function of x. That is, the slope of y(x) itself is varying wrt x.
  4. Sep 20, 2010 #3

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

There's no need to define dx and dy. You can (and probably should) think of dy/dx as a single symbol that means "the derivative of the function that takes x to y". The alternative is to let dx be any number and define dy as (dy/dx)dx, where dy/dx is defined as above.

If [itex]f:\mathbb R\rightarrow\mathbb R[/itex], then we define [itex]df:\mathbb R^2\rightarrow\mathbb R[/itex] by

If we write dx instead of h, dy instead of df(x,h), and use that f'(x)=dy/dx, the equality takes the form

Note that a Taylor expansion of f around x gives us

[tex]f(x+h)=f(x)+f'(x)h+\mathcal O(h^2)[/tex]

which implies