Why is it Important that something is a vector space?

In summary, vector spaces are a fundamental tool in describing geometric properties and have been generalized to fit various applications. They allow for the addition, stretching, and compression of directions, and their length is an important factor in many scenarios. Vector spaces also have many intuitive properties and are used in abstract classifications of structures in algebra. In physics and applied math, vector spaces are crucial in describing phenomena that exhibit linearity and superposition. While different types of phenomena can be represented by matrices, functions, numbers, and n-tuples, these structures all share the same properties as vector spaces. Therefore, vector spaces are an important tool in understanding and describing various physical phenomena.
MAGNIBORO
hi

I am studying algebra and i have a question.

why is important that something is a vector space?, i mean, what implications have?

matrix, complex numbers , functions , n-tuples.
What do these have in common, apart from being a vector space?

why is so important that a certain set of "vectors" over a field satisfy some axioms?

thanks

Last edited by a moderator:
Mathematics news on Phys.org
MAGNIBORO said:
hi

I am studying algebra and i have a question.

why is important that something is a vector space?, i mean, what implications have?

matrix, complex numbers , functions , n-tuples.
What do these have in common, apart from being a vector space?

why is so important that a certain set of "vectors" over a field satisfy some axioms?

thanks
It is a natural tool to describe geometric properties, which was then generalized to fit more applications.