Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What is Root of i ?

1. Mar 29, 2007 #1

neu

I am a 3rd Physics student and this is news to me!

apparantly root of i is exp(iPi/2))^1/2

Why?

Of course by i I mean Root of minus 1

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 29, 2007 #2

arildno

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    Dearly Missed

That is, indeed the principal square root of i.
    We have:
    [tex](e^{\frac{i\pi}{2}})^{\frac{1}{2}}=e^{\frac{i\pi}{4}}[/tex]
    which, multplied with itself yields:
    [tex]e^{\frac{i\pi}{4}}*e^{\frac{i\pi}{4}}=e^{\frac{i\pi}{2}}=i[/tex]
    which was what to be shown.

The other square root of i is [tex]e^{\frac{i5\pi}{4}}[/tex]

4. Mar 29, 2007 #3

neu

worked it out just after i posted, but another way

expi(Pi/2)=CosPi/2 + i Sin Pi/2 = i

As the cos pi/2 =0 & sinPi/2 =1

badboy

5. Mar 29, 2007 #4

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

As arildno pointed out, i, like any number (except 0) has two square roots.

If you don't want to use the exponential form, you can use the trigonometric form: [itex]x+ iy= r (cos(\theta)+ i sin(\theta))[/itex] with [itex]r= \sqrt{x^2+ y^2}[/itex] and [itex]\theta= arctan(y/x)[/itex]. By "DeMoivre's formula"- the nth roots are given by
    [tex]r^{1/n}(cos(\theta/n)+ i sin(\theta/n))[/tex]
    with the n different roots gotten by adding [itex]2\pi[/itex] repeatedly to [itex]\theta[/itex].

In this particular case, [itex]i= 0+ 1i= 1(cos(\pi/2)+ i sin(\pi/2))[/itex].
    It's square roots are [itex]1(cos(\pi/4)+ i sin(\pi/4))= \sqrt{2}/2+ i\sqrt{2}/[/itex] and [itex]1(cos((\pi+ 2\pi)/4)+ i sin((\pi+ 2\pi)/4))[/itex][itex]= 1(cos(3\pi/4)+ i sin(3\pi/4))[/itex][itex]=-\sqrt{2}/2+ i\sqrt{2}/2[/itex].

Obviously, I took too long in typing this!

6. Mar 30, 2007 #5
    here is another proof without using trig at all, and also without using the equivalent form of an img number using e.