1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What is the average speed for this lap?

1. Oct 17, 2005 #1
    ok, i am new at physics, so please no one make fun of me for my stupid questions. Ok here is the questions
    In the Canadian Grand Prix Auto race, the drivers travel a total distance of 304.3km in the 69 laps around the track. If the fastest lap time was 84.12s, what is the average speed for this lap? express your answer in metres pers second and kilometres per hour.
    Please someone help me, i have a test and i need some serious help!!!!!!!:confused:
  2. jcsd
  3. Oct 17, 2005 #2

Homework Helper

You probably have an equation in your book or from your instructor that says [itex]speed_{avg} = \Delta distance / \Delta time[/itex]. You know the delta time for the lap, all you need is the distance of one lap. You can calculate that from the information in the problem statement.
  4. Oct 17, 2005 #3
    do i have to change the 304.3km to metres?? and then do i divide that by 69 laps??
  5. Oct 17, 2005 #4
    do you have msn or something so i can talk to you easier hotvette??
  6. Oct 17, 2005 #5

Homework Helper

Yep. If you ran a 1 km race around a circular track and it took 4 laps to do so, what is the distance around the track?
  7. Oct 17, 2005 #6
    i dont understand what you are talking about. did you not just say the track was 1km?? i dont understand
  8. Oct 17, 2005 #7
    You ran 1km in four laps.

How many km per laps are there.

[tex] \frac {1km} {4 laps} [/tex]

[tex] .25 \frac {km } {lap} [/tex]

So one lap is then .25 kms. You need to do the same with the original.
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2005
  9. Oct 17, 2005 #8

Homework Helper

Just trying to illustrate by example. lawtonfogle explained it.
  10. Oct 17, 2005 #9