What is the English word for this type of diagram used in electronics?

• Thread starter TSN79
  • Start date
  • Tags
    English
In summary: Page 7 is a timing diagram of how relay logic works. It starts with the main power to the relay on Vcc. The relay works on Vcc and Gnd and has a set of contacts that it opens and closes to control the power to devices connected to it. There is also a sensor that tells the relay when the power has been turned off.
TSN79
Quite a simple question really; I'm just learning about some simple electronics, the link below is an exam from Norway. On page 4 there is a figure. I am simply wondering what this type of diagram, schematic or whatever is called in english? Knowing the english word would make it so much easier for me to find information about it on the web...

www.hist.no/aft/iet/elkraft/pls/eksamensoppgaver/eksopp091202.pdf

As long as I'm here, what is the R and S (top and bottom) on this figure? Do they stand for something? If you know of any sites where I can learn the basics of this type of diagram I would surely appreciate it, thx!

Engineering news on Phys.org
From what I know, I don't think there is a specific name for that. The figure in page 4 looks like a circuit schematic. The one on page 7 is a timing diagram. R and S indicate two different potentials (voltages) driving the circuit. Usually Vcc and Vee or ground. The various elements are switches, implemented using transistors. I think it's more about understanding what the circuit does rather than how to use the schematic.

I would call the diagram on page 4, ladder logic. Generally they are show rotated 90deg with the power rails (R and S) running up the sides of the page. What is shown is a single "rung" of the ladder logic diagram. This is usually the starting point for creating a PLC program to control devices like the pneumatic schematic shown on page 1